Blog

  • Lauran Vohmann
    Thu, 1/10/2015
    Above: Leh temple,Ladakh India. Alfonso Perez de Velasco. This week we asked Head On Landscape Prize Winner, Alfonso Perez de Velasco what...
  • Lauran Vohmann
    Wed, 30/09/2015
    According to statistics from the report by State of News Photography, in collaboration with World Press Photo, the University of Stirling and Oxford...
  • Lauran Vohmann
    Mon, 7/09/2015
    Based in Kabul, Afghanistan, Andrew Quilty tell us about the important work of RISC and the best lessons he's learned in photography. ...
  • Lauran Vohmann
    Wed, 2/09/2015
    Our Portrait Prize 2015 Winner, Molly Harris, is sharing her best lesson in photography!  What is the best lesson you ever learnt about...
  • Lauran Vohmann
    Mon, 17/08/2015
    De Kwong (@twistdee) is an Instagram sensation (50.3K followers) and a Head On Photo Festival 2015 Landscape Finalist.  She shared the Best...
  • Lauran Vohmann
    Fri, 10/07/2015
    Welcome to our new feature "The Best Lesson I Learned in Photography..." where we'll be asking Head On Prize Finalists and previous exhibitors what...
  • Lauran Vohmann
    Wed, 1/07/2015
    This week we’re giving you the low-down on Photography and the law. We’ve compiled heaps of resources to help you stay on the right side of it! If...
  • Lauran Vohmann
    Wed, 1/07/2015
    Want to support Head On Photo Festival and save some money on industry essentials?! Read on! Get 25% Adobe Creative Cloud Photography Edition with...
  • Lauran Vohmann
    Wed, 17/06/2015
    Now that the festival has well and truly wrapped up, let’s take a minute to look at our finalists. They’ve been uploaded to the Gallery and...
  • Lauran Vohmann
    Tue, 9/06/2015
      Having Head On Photo Festival withdrawal symptoms? Or didn't quite make it to the festival? Never fear! We're here with a round-up of some...
  • KatMills
    Tue, 26/05/2015
    The best laid plans of artists and audiences often go awry. With only 6 days left to soak up the photographic juices of Head On Photo Festival,...
  • KatMills
    Tue, 19/05/2015
    Friday, 22 May blank_space Emett Toms - Without Words Sunday, 24 May Incinerator Art Space Adrian Boddy & Tony Caro - Japan :...
  • KatMills
    Mon, 18/05/2015
    Openings Wednesday, 20 May Barometer Gallery, 6pm-8pm Genevieve Swifte Trespass The Picture House, 6.30pm-8.30pm Steve Greenaway - A...
  • KatMills
    Wed, 13/05/2015
    Wednesday, 13 May X88 Gallery Markus Andersen, Anthony Ginns & Albion Harrison-Naish An urban dialogue Friday, 15 May Pine Street...
  • KatMills
    Tue, 12/05/2015
    Wednesday, 13 May Dickerson Gallery, 6pm-8pm The Restless Waves; Meg Cowell & Kurt Sorensen The Rocks Discovery Museum, 6pm-8pm The...
  • KatMills
    Tue, 12/05/2015
    Upcoming Workshops 15 May- Light Painting with Peter Solness on Cockatoo Island 24 May- Wildlife Photography with Angela Robertson...
  • KatMills
    Tue, 5/05/2015
    Featured Exhibitions opening this week: Date Venue Exhibiting Artist Exhibition...
  • KatMills
    Tue, 5/05/2015
    At the heart of the festival, the Head On Hub at Sydney Lower Town Hall is the place to be for all things photography. Open daily from 12pm, we have...
  • KatMills
    Mon, 20/04/2015
    Choosing the right platform through which to promote your photography or finesse your visual story is but one of many challenging decisions facing...
  • KatMills
    Mon, 13/04/2015
    Photography symposium: Trafficking images Art Gallery of NSW, Sat 18 Apr  Held in conjunction with the exhibition The photograph and...
  • KatMills
    Mon, 23/03/2015
    George Pacheco:  Amalthée Sydney Lower Town Hall 02/05/15-10/05/15 The title of this work derives from the name of the goat that nursed...
  • KatMills
    Fri, 13/03/2015
    Over the past few weeks, the necessity and power of photojournalism to dig a little deeper as been widely covered.  The photojournalism...
  • KatMills
    Wed, 4/03/2015
      A photographer's greatest strength is their vision. Unfortunately, somewhere between eye, lens, monitor, printer and gallery wall this...
  • John Slaytor
    Mon, 2/03/2015
    Photo Credit Rob Johnston The 2015 Hang On Workshop at the Museum of Sydney was a great success thanks to presenters Megan Dick, Baker &...
  • KatMills
    Fri, 27/02/2015
    While Annie Liebovitz is never afraid to fall in love with her subjects, Dorothea Lange sees the camera as "an instrument that teaches people how to...