Blog

  • Lyndal Irons
    Wed, 11/05/2011
    Glenn Lockitch: Whale Wars As photographer on board the Bob Barker during the Sea Shepherd’s most successful Antartic Campaign, Glenn Lockitch was...
  • Lyndal Irons
    Tue, 10/05/2011
    Andrew Quilty: Mexicans It was with some trepidation that photographer Andrew Quilty crossed the Mexican border for the first time, hoping to get...
  • Lyndal Irons
    Tue, 3/05/2011
    Andy Adams & Larissa Leclair In Conversation with Adriana Teresa, FotoVisura Andy Adams is the founder and editor of FlakPhoto.com. Larissa...
  • Lyndal Irons
    Sun, 1/05/2011
    Sam Harris: Postcards From Home Sam Harris abandoned a successful career in London as a photographer for Esquire and the Sunday Times to see...
  • Lyndal Irons
    Sun, 24/04/2011
    In the Name of God: Alejandra Platt Mexican photographer Alejandra Platt’s award-winning photography has been showcased in over 30 solo...
  • Lyndal Irons
    Mon, 4/04/2011
    Krystle Wright, adventure sports photographer Krystle Wright has navigated her way down a 3,000 foot mountain in an oncoming blizzard, swum among...
  • Lyndal Irons
    Sat, 2/04/2011
    Brent Winstone’s Sydney Brent Winstone’s vision of Sydney is graphic, isolated and controlled. He is a rare architectural photographer who can...
  • Lyndal Irons
    Fri, 25/03/2011
    Altered States of Agoraphobia UK teacher and photographer Simon Kossoff moved to America and started a blog to show others how he saw his new...
  • Lyndal Irons
    Tue, 15/03/2011
    Stories from the Wayside According to Pastor and CEO Graham Long the Wayside Chapel in Kings Cross is one of the most photographed places in Sydney...
  • Lyndal Irons
    Thu, 10/03/2011
    Lyndal Irons: Regulars My local is pretty much across the road from wherever I move. It’s not an obviously photogenic place but there was a guy...
  • Lyndal Irons
    Wed, 9/03/2011
    David Wadelton: Icons of Suburbia David Wadelton is best known for his surrealist paintings but recently-aired street images of Melbourne in the ’...
  • Lyndal Irons
    Mon, 7/03/2011
    Milton Rogovin’s Approach: Photography, Class, and the Aesthetics of Making Space An edited version of Joseph Entin’s paper to the American Studies...
  • Lyndal Irons
    Fri, 4/03/2011
    Elena Zhukova: Dreams The purpose of my photographs is to illustrate the magnitude and vast range of human character and individuality in fictitious...
  • Lyndal Irons
    Thu, 3/03/2011
    Robert McFarlane’s Round Up Photographer and writer Robert McFarlane reports back from a tour of Sydney’s current exhibitions. Two exhibitions offer...
  • Lyndal Irons
    Mon, 21/02/2011
    Pete Eckert: Tourist in the Sighted World I didn’t take photography seriously until I went totally blind. I was trained in sculpture and...
  • Lyndal Irons
    Thu, 17/02/2011
    How I got that: Adrian Cook When Adrian Cook set out to shoot Rowland S. Howard for Rolling Stone he had no idea he’d become one of the last to enjoy...
  • Lyndal Irons
    Tue, 15/02/2011
    Last week to see Jeff Carter This is your last week to catch the State Library’s excellent Jeff Carter exhibition before it closes on February 20....
  • Lyndal Irons
    Mon, 14/02/2011
     Gabriela Herman: Bloggers I blog and I read blogs - a lot of them. Blogs have become my go-to source for...
  • Lyndal Irons
    Sat, 12/02/2011
    Medium: Vinyl is open for entry This year, the Hardware Gallery joins Head On to invite photographers to take part in their annual Medium: Vinyl...
  • Lyndal Irons
    Fri, 11/02/2011
    Farewell to Penny TweedieThe distinguished Walkley award-winning photographer Penny Tweedie died at age 70 on January 14. She will be farewelled by...
  • Lyndal Irons
    Mon, 7/02/2011
    ‘Point and shoot’ goes wide and fast Having a fast medium wide-angle lens has been part of my documentary camera outfit for over forty years - first...
  • Lyndal Irons
    Tue, 1/02/2011
    Portraits: Lizane Louw Caledon, South Africa: Mr Arnolds Plaatjies and his wife Alithea van Breda in their humble home on a farm near Caledon...
  • Lyndal Irons
    Sun, 30/01/2011
    How I got that: Franky TsangIn our first Head On Backstage interview, Franky Tsang tells how a free portraiture session for his yoga teacher and her...
  • leegrant
    Thu, 16/12/2010
    Welcome to the new Head On blog! Redeye is an online publication for the dissemination and discussion of Australian photography. Naturally, it will...
  • leegrant
    Sat, 4/12/2010
    Reviewed by Robert McFarlaneThis extraordinary exhibition may be one of the most intricately constructed displays ever seen at the Australian Centre...